No, your software and plug-ins will not be overwritten. CC apps are installed in different folders.
And remember, as a Creative Cloud member, you don’t need to install an upgrade to a desktop application every time one becomes available. You can continue using your current version of the product as long as you have an active membership. You have flexibility on when you install a new release to take advantage of new product features.